Post Format

Day 16: Thinking About Things

Leave a Reply

1393835_10152317946649698_1735243198_n

 

I visit my friend a lot in County Sligo. I would go as far as saying it is one of my most favourite places in the world. I see Ben Bulben, mysteriously towering over the town, Queen Maeve on the other side keeping lookout from her tomb atop Knocknarea, and I feel at home. From Rosses Point beach to Strandhill with the famous “Shells Cafe”, I just can never get enough of it.

I remember the day this picture was taken, I had just come back from a beautiful lunch in Shells Cafe and was heading to Rosses Point for a stroll on the beach when my friend insisted that we stop and take a picture of an abandoned boat. And it got me thinking about how it got there and of all the waters that it must have sailed in. The stories that it could tell us, if it could only talk.

We very easily look around and don’t pick up on the things that are around us. It could be an abandoned classic car, an old stone cottage or a boat just left to fade into a memory that no one talks about.

There are stories in things and thats why I’m going to write a short story for my next entry. To try and bring up some kind of voice from the perspective of the abandoned or the forgotten. Because that can go for people too.

Posted by

I am a young lady (in every sense of the word) ...and I love to write. I love to write about anything, it doesn't bother me, once I'm getting words onto the page I don't mind. I like to serve up a piece of myself for people to read, or glance over, it doesn't matter if my words stay with them for 2 minutes, or 2 years. Once I have a piece of myself out in this world, then I'm happy. Words on a page, make me shine. Especially if they are my own. And I love to shine. It's very hard to shine in this wonderful world of ours, these days. I've started a project on my Wordpress blog called "The Girl". I would love any feedback or any advice from readers about it. I would love to hear from you and I would love to read your blog too, so get in contact and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

