Post Format

The Liebster Award – And A Happy Dance!

Leave a Reply

 

liebster-blog-awards-2

 

I would just like to say a very very huge thank you to http://davidjdelaney.wordpress.com for nominating me for the Liebster Award on WordPress yesterday! I have just read through his interview and I seem to have a lot in common with him and can relate to a lot of what he has to say – which is nice. So thank you David! It is a wonderful feeling to be given a nod of appreciation from other writers on WordPress for taking the risk of writing your thoughts and feelings on a blog.

So I have been told the next thing I have to do is answer a kind of interview about myself;

  • 11 Random Facts about myself
  • Answer 11 questions the awarding blogger posted for me
  • Nominate 11 other bloggers who I feel deserve the award, linking them to this post so that they know they have been nominated and what they have to do
  • No tag backs ….. don’t know what they are!

11 Random Facts About Me:

  1. I first discovered I could write when I wrote a poem about my Grandfather, who had passed away. It was supposed to be an English homework assignment about someone we looked up to, and of course, me being me – what I ended up with was a poem. My English teacher entered me in a poetry competition and I ended up winning an award for this poem. I was 13 years old.
  2. I am so afraid of natural sponges – seriously, I can’t touch them or bring myself to even be in a bathroom if they are there.
  3. I read the complete Jane Austen works by the time I was 11. Romanticism will always be a part of me because of her, and I am very thankful for it.
  4. I am from the Midlands of Ireland, but I have lived in Liberia and Chad in Africa.
  5. I am a soldier by day, for the past 9 years, but all I can think about all day everyday, is writing.
  6. I have a lot of Obsessive Compulsive Disorders, my mind never stops, I would be the first to say I am probably crazy – but I would never change who I am, for anyone.
  7. If I don’t write, I’m not a nice person to be around. I am so glad that there is a word to describe me – Ambivert. Somedays I need people and places, other days I won’t leave my room where I write and I read and I won’t talk to anyone. It’s nothing personal. It’s just the way I am.
  8. My favourite colour is blue. I talk to my pets, really dislike anyone who disrespects animals in general. I hate Brussel Sprouts and cauliflower.
  9. I can get obsessed with people, things or topics very easily, especially if I don’t understand them.
  10. I share the same birthmark as my Father, and I also lost my two front teeth in a training accident on a treadmill – it was hilarious.
  11. I want to live in the United States at some point, but I want a cabin in Canada somewhere with a view of the mountains from a huge open window, cozy blankets and a fridge full of beer and Pinot Grigio, where I can sit behind a giant desk and write until my fingers fall off.

11 Questions:

  • The best and worst book you’ve ever read?  The worst book I ever read was J.K Rowlings “The Casual Vacancy” – it was that bad I never finished it and I had to Google the name just now, because I couldn’t even remember that. I’m not sure I can pick my favourite book, I have so many of them and I just can’t do it, I’m sorry. That would be like asking to pick a favourite friend. I love short story collections too, they are so powerful. I feel people should read more of those.
  • What is it about writing that keeps you wanting more? I’ve known from a very young age that I was a writer. When I write it’s like a release. When I get a really great idea for a short story or for a book, I won’t be able to stop until I get it all out on the screen. I once spent 18 hours writing a short story for a competition I heard about that morning, I only took breaks to eat and to go to the toilet. The closing date was the next day. I think I discover things about myself when I write. It simply just makes me happy.
  • Who is your favorite author? This is a really difficult question!! When I read someones book it is more than just picking it up off the shelf for me, it’s like you are being invited into their home. It is very personal. And when that writer has touched you by their book or their story or even something as simple as one sentence from the book, you are moved by them, forever. I love Gillian Flynn, Louisa May Alcott, Janet Fitch, Hugh Howey, Seamus Heaney, Emily Dickinson, Maeve Binchey, James Joyce….I could go on and on. But recently, something strange happened…I picked up a book I found ( I literally found it where I work, abandoned 😦 ) called “Cujo” by Stephen King. I couldn’t even look at the covers of some of his books as a child after seeing a scene from “It” and I swore I would never ever read his stuff. Well, I couldn’t put “Cujo” down and I became obsessed with Stephen King. I can’t believe that man is able to get inside peoples heads and scare them the way he does, he’s so creepy its brilliant! I have just bought the first in his Dark Tower series, and I cannot wait to read them all.
  • What genre do you write? I don’t think I want to limit myself to a certain genre. I’m a fairly scattered person, so I think in my own writing, it might reflect that. I can be very poetic in what I write and I have been told that by other writers. I think I got that from my schooling and the way I used English Literature and poetry to understand the world. I am working on a thriller at the moment, that is taking forever to write, but I want it to be really creepy. On the other hand I have another idea for a different book that is the complete opposite, and another idea for a children’s book….so yea, can you see how scattered I am?!!
  • How do you stop yourself procrastinating? Yea, I have a HUGE problem with this – hence writing almost 15,000 words the day before a short story competition deadline! I try to deal with this over all aspects of my day to day life, and not just in relation to writing! I think we all do, I think it’s part of being human. I just try to focus on what I really want to get finished and do my best to make it happen. For example, Lent came around and I was sitting down thinking that Lent shouldn’t be just about sacrificing things and cutting things out of your life. It should also be about doing more of the things you don’t do enough of….so thats how I came about the idea of writing something every day. Which has now led to me gaining recognition on WordPress. I try to remind myself to just do a little something each day and you will see the rewards. They do come!
  • What brings you right into a writing mood, and how do you keep it that way? Some days I can’t write. It just isn’t in me to, and it can lead to me getting aggravated and distracted even more. We all have lives and commitments and we can get tired or have to deal with certain events and things that can affect our moods, which has a direct effect on what you write. If I’m in a good frame of mind and I have gotten all the normal day to day things I need to do out of the way, then I can take a deep breath and settle down to what I want to achieve that day. I need a clean slate and no distractions, that helps me. I also think I write better when I am more physically active. It could be a walk, a run or just being out meeting people.
  • What do you prefer, ebook or paperback? This is the easiest question, finally!! I will always always prefer a paperback over an ebook. There is nothing like picking up a book and feeling it in your hand. I am also one of those weirdos that smell books! I think it’s great though that you can fit all of your books onto a device if you are going travelling for an extended period of time, or if you are house bound because of an illness or a disability and it is easier for you to download them from the comfort of your home. But I will always chose paperback. I love quirky, local bookstores that sell books that are pre-owned too, those books carry something a little more special.
  • Most intense read so far whether its a book, short story or election promises from your local politician? This actually happened to me yesterday while reading a short story called “The Destructors” by Graham Greene. The story is only about 20 pages long, but the intensity of emotions, anger and unfairness that you feel while you are reading it, is very powerful. The underlying message within it will blow you away too.
  • How do you note new story ideas? I have the craziest dreams and can make up stories from them. I can roll over on any given morning and grab my iPhone, type into notes what it is and save it to write about later. Either that, or I will scribble them down on a diary I have.
  • Where would you like to be, writing career wise, in five years time? In 5 years time I would love to see my name on my first novel in bookstores all over the world. But then, on the other hand, if I never made a penny from writing and just remained on WordPress and having an online presence, just touching people’s thoughts with something I have written, then I would be very happy. I realise now that being a writer is a long road, and every day you learn something new. Thats why I love it so much and why I do it.
  • Why do you write? Why do you breathe, why do you smile, why do you do the things you love to do? – Because you have to, or you’ll begin to just exist in life. You won’t be living. And that’s one of my biggest fears. It’s also really really great when you gain feedback (such as this lovely award) from other aspiring writers and bloggers. You take such a chance putting yourself out into the world, its nice to be recognised and it gives you the confidence to do more.

After reading all of that, here are my nominations for The Liebster Award;

Questions for the Nominees:

Best and worst book you ever read?
What is it about writing that keeps you wanting more?
Who is your favorite author?
What genre do you write?
How do you stop yourself procrastinating?
What brings you right into a writing mood, and how do you keep it that way?
What do you prefer, ebook or paperback?
Most intense read so far whether its a book, short story or a poem?
How do you note new story ideas?
Where would you like to be, writing career wise, in five years time?
Why do you write?

I wish I followed more blogs that have less than 200 followers but these are the only ones I know of and I really can’t search WordPress for more! I am supposed to nominate 11. Again, I just want to say THANK YOU to everyone who takes the time to read my blog, and to my future readers, and for the feedback you all give me. It is a pleasure to receive this award and I hope it is the beginning of many years of enjoyable blogging and communicating with each other as our lives role onwards. Thank you! 🙂

And one last time …. here’s my happy dance! 🙂

gif-happy-dance.jpg

Posted by

I am a young lady (in every sense of the word) ...and I love to write. I love to write about anything, it doesn't bother me, once I'm getting words onto the page I don't mind. I like to serve up a piece of myself for people to read, or glance over, it doesn't matter if my words stay with them for 2 minutes, or 2 years. Once I have a piece of myself out in this world, then I'm happy. Words on a page, make me shine. Especially if they are my own. And I love to shine. It's very hard to shine in this wonderful world of ours, these days. I've started a project on my Wordpress blog called "The Girl". I would love any feedback or any advice from readers about it. I would love to hear from you and I would love to read your blog too, so get in contact and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

