Post Format

Kindle Vs. Books

2 comments

20140110-165303.jpg

Kindle Vs. Book…??
Is this a viable war between two objects that contain the same thing or do you believe there is more to this discussion than that?

I always thought that the ritual of hearing about this great book title from a friend, racing to the bookstore after work to get it, boiling the kettle for a mug of tea or coffee and slipping on my pyjamas and fluffy socks was something nothing could ever surpass….not even Ian Somerhalder showing up at my door….naked.
I would open this book, its new pages never before creased, sliding through my fingers and the smell of the paper filling my nose. I would become lost in this new world of characters and conversations about 5 pages in. My life forever changed by what’s going on inside it, unconsciously giving a grunt to anyone trying to start a conversation with me, text messages ignored for hours. Especially housework.
The magic of books being, that you could stare at a piece of paper for hours on end and still not know what the hell is going on. Which is what happened to me when I studied Ulysses by James Joyce. (A book that should never be kindled in my opinion).
But say for arguments sake I was travelling a lot or going on summer holidays around Europe, maybe going on a gap year and I just couldn’t bring any of the lengthy list of novels I had compiled for myself, because I just didn’t have the luggage space to do so.
Enter the Kindle; dark, mysterious, sleek and slender. You eye her up like she’s competition, like she is going to steal something of value from you.
You switch her on, and there they all are….listed right there on her screen. Waiting for you to select your favourite novel and plunge back into your imagination. There is no magical smell, no comforting feeling of thick pages in your hands. Just a small, light companion who automatically knows which light is best to read in. You can read any which way you like, on your back, on your front, even on your side. And then it hits you; the guilt of the novel sitting at home on the bookshelf lonely and despondent, her pages never to be greased by your sun tan lotion, never to be smudged by your tears or marked by your outbursts of laughter.
Is it the same experience? Or are you like me? Do you read the physical book when you are just at home and use the kindle for travelling and holidays? Do you think our books will eventually succumb to the same fate as vinyl records, cassette tapes and now cd’s?
I hope not. I hope for nothing more than co-existence!!

πŸ™‚ x

20140110-164751.jpg

Posted by

I am a young lady (in every sense of the word) ...and I love to write. I love to write about anything, it doesn't bother me, once I'm getting words onto the page I don't mind. I like to serve up a piece of myself for people to read, or glance over, it doesn't matter if my words stay with them for 2 minutes, or 2 years. Once I have a piece of myself out in this world, then I'm happy. Words on a page, make me shine. Especially if they are my own. And I love to shine. It's very hard to shine in this wonderful world of ours, these days. I've started a project on my Wordpress blog called "The Girl". I would love any feedback or any advice from readers about it. I would love to hear from you and I would love to read your blog too, so get in contact and thanks for stopping by!

2 Comments Join the Conversation

  1. I am happy (read relieved) to see that I am not the only individual that becomes emotionally attached to the physical book. I unabashedly admit that I enjoy fanning the pages of a new book in front of my face, inhaling the scent of the freshly pressed paper that will reveal an emotional experience over the course of our dance together. As they sit on the bookshelf afterwards, they are always there to greet you, their spine and title reminders of the adventures taken. No kindle will ever be able to do that πŸ˜‰ I suppose I am old-school, but I will never be able to give up my comfort of pulling a book off the shelf, getting cozy in a chair, and turning real pages.

    Like

    Reply

    • I completely respect that and I couldn’t have put it better myself!! There really is nothing like the physicality of a book and the comfort it brings! It invokes memories from our childhood too and how we snuggled under one of our parents arms and listened and looked at the pages until we drifted to sleep. I still have most of mine in the attic.
      Thanks for your comment and for stopping by.
      Happy reading πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

