Post Format

Books are great gifts….

Leave a Reply

20140107-232848.jpg

I was delighted to wake up Christmas morning to see that Santa had called to our home. But I was even more delighted to see all of the wonderful books he brought me, especially by Gillian Flynn, who has now become my favourite fiction writer.

I initially came across her third book, “Gone Girl”, a few months ago and I read it in about a week. Completely un-put-downable and a real thrill to read. I love it when a book engrosses you in a character and you find yourself sitting in work thinking about and then racing home to find out what is going to happen next. Especially when the book is so well written that it latches onto you this sense of impending doom or a feeling that something bad is going to happen. I don’t particularly like horror movies, so I’m surprised that I like Gillian Flynn at all!!

This book “Sharp Objects”, her first book, I read in two days. I became engrossed in the main character Camille and how spookily uneasy she made me feel in regards to her mental health, yet how resilient she is. I really felt quite horrible reading it in parts that refer to animal cruelty and the ever increasing disgusting topic of slaughterhouses, and the very vile mistreatment of these poor animals. And it all just added to the lump-in-your-throat, kind of regurgitated bile feeling when reading it. The claustrophobia of the small town where it was happening made me very uneasy too. Especially the reoccurring fact that Camille had to put herself in a position to talk to people she had nothing in common with and also absolutely didn’t like. So many times we encounter this ourselves and I felt it added to the desperation of her story. Like she had to go back through her own story to tell someone else’s story, two murdered children’s story, just to right the wrongs that were done to her.

I really enjoyed this book. I actually finished it about twenty minutes ago. It was gritty and dirty. It made me feel scared in parts and planted a little paranoid seed in my brain about knowing your neighbours/family/friends, but posing the question do we really know them at all? It also illuminated thoughts about how violent, and frankly psychologically twisted, some people can be. Especially when they are teenagers. I can’t say anymore without giving too much away.

Gillian released this book for publish in 2006. Her second book followed in 2009, titled “Dark places” and this is what I’m going to read next. I love the way she has gotten inside my head and turned things around in my thinking. No one suspects that women can be evil creatures. Always in literature and in every day life, women have been portrayed as this typical wounded creature needing rescuing or a victim of her sex. Gillian gives you a gentle nudge in the ribs and says darkly in your ear “what if that’s all a big facade?”. Very evil creatures indeed.

As you can see from the picture, my parents got me this on a three for two offer from Easons, I don’t know where the “free” third book has been misplaced to. It could be hidden in my mothers bedside locker, but for now I’ll make do with her second book and finish up my experience of Mrs. Flynn.

What books have you read over the Christmas break? Or what books did you receive? Any recommendations of a good book are readily welcome here.

(Still working on Chapter 4, by the way 😉 )

Chat soon!! x

Posted by

I am a young lady (in every sense of the word) ...and I love to write. I love to write about anything, it doesn't bother me, once I'm getting words onto the page I don't mind. I like to serve up a piece of myself for people to read, or glance over, it doesn't matter if my words stay with them for 2 minutes, or 2 years. Once I have a piece of myself out in this world, then I'm happy. Words on a page, make me shine. Especially if they are my own. And I love to shine. It's very hard to shine in this wonderful world of ours, these days. I've started a project on my Wordpress blog called "The Girl". I would love any feedback or any advice from readers about it. I would love to hear from you and I would love to read your blog too, so get in contact and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

